I’m A Grazer!

It hit me like a ton of bricks yesterday; I am a grazer! Yesterday morning as I was making my girls breakfast I tossed a piece of cereal in my mouth and licked the yogurt spoon clean. Harmless right? NO!

After I realized what I did I decided that I wanted to track just how much I nibble in one day. I found I am at my worst when I make my kids their food. Often I have to cut it up, especially since G is only 14 months old. As I cut or rip it apart I grab a small piece here or there. Also, after they get done eating if there is only a bite or two left and I will eat it up. So yesterday every time I wanted to put something in my bottomless pit of a stomach I put aside. By the end of the day I had an interesting collection: cereal, cut up chicken, peas, corn, popcorn, pretzels, cut up pork, half a banana, and that’s not counting wanting to lick the spoon clean of yogurt, mashed potatoes, and pudding. Before you ask, no I did not put the spoons to the side. I figured out about how much was on them and wrote it down. By the end of the night grazing would have added 674 extra calories to my day! That is more than half my calories allowed in one day. WOW! I  know my grazing is worse when it’s not a day at home. I have the habit of eating that last chicken nugget or the few lonely fries.

I am betting if you are a grazer you do it without thinking just like I do. Make a point to think about every piece of food you put in your mouth. Do what I did and see how many calories you are saving yourself.

Leave a Reply

